Prof. Andrzej Górski

Fulbright Visiting Scholar

Dr. Gorski is Professor of Medicine and Immunology at The Medical University of Warsaw and Vice President of the Polish Academy of Sciences. He is Board certified in Internal Medicine with a subspecialty certification in clinical immunology. Dr. Górski received his M.D. (1970) and Ph.D. (1973) degrees from The Medical University of Warsaw and was a Fulbright Scholar at the Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research, USA. He has been a visiting professor at Adelaide Children’s Hospital, Australia, the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, the University of London United Medical and Dental Schools of Guy’s and St. Thomas’s Hospitals, England, and the Universidad Autonoma, Madrid, Spain.

Dr. Górski served as Prorector for Scientific Affairs & International Cooperation (1993-1996) and as Rector (1996-1999) of The Medical University of Warsaw. From 1999-2007 he was also Director of the L. Hirszfeld Institute of Immunology and Experimental Therapy at the Polish Academy of Sciences. Dr. Górski has authored over 100 scientific publications, serves as the Editor in Chief of Archivum Immunologiae et Therapiae Experimentalis, and has served as a member of the Editorial Board of Science & Engineering Ethics.
His awards include the Meller Award for excellence in cancer research from Sloan-KetteringInstitute, the ICRETT Award and the Yamagiwa-Yoshida Award from the International Union Against Cancer, the J.Sniadecki Memorial Award from the Polish Academy of Science, and the Gloria Medicinae, awarded by The Polish Medical Association. In addition, Dr. Górski is a member of the Committee for Ethics in Science at the Polish Academy of Sciences, a member of the Committee for Ethics in Science at the Ministry of Science, Head of the Bioethics Committee, Ministry of Health, represents Poland in the Forum of National Ethics Committees to the European Commission, and is the representative of the Polish Academy of Sciences in its role as chair of the Biosecurity Working Group of the InterAcademy Panel on International Issues.